Accept cookies Danmarks Nationalbank uses cookies to monitor traffic on our website. This allows us to improve our website and make it more accessible to users. Therefore, we would like you to accept cookies on Danmarks Nationalbank's website. You can delete our cookies at any time.   More about cookies

About us Tasks Notes and coins Euro Monetary policy Market info Statistics Government debt
<< Home / Notes and coins / Denmark's coin series
News service Site map Dansk   Search Log on
Financial stability Press room Publications Rules
Back to the frontpage

Danish banknotes 2009-2011 series

Danish banknotes 1997 series

Danish banknotes since 1945

Reproduction of banknotes and coins


Denmark's coin series

25-øre coin

50-øre coin

1-krone coin

2-krone coin

5-krone coin

10-krone coin

20-krone coin

New rounding rules

Exchange of coins

Film about Danish coins

Thematic coins

Banknotes and coins in figures

The Faroese banknote series

Coin and banknote exhibition

Danmarks Nationalbank | | |QR code for mobile units

Denmark's coin series

The present coin series comprises six denominations and was introduced over a period of four years - from 1989 to 1993 - with the subsequent adjustments of e.g. new portraits of Queen Margrethe for the 10- and 20-krone coins and a new motif on the reverse of the 10- and 20-krone coins.

Denmark's coin series

The coin series comprises six denominations: 50 øre, and 1, 2, 5, 10 and 20 kroner. The number of coins is based on tradition, but is supported by surveys of the most suitable number of coins in a well-functioning series.

Link between size and denomination
The present coin series was introduced over a period of four years – from 1989 to 1993. There was a need for comprehensive reform of the coin series at that time, since there was no longer any logical relation between the physical size and denomination of the individual coins.

Ongoing adjustment of the coin series
Since its introduction the present coin series has undergone various changes such as new portraits of Queen Margrethe and a new version of the motif on the reverse of the 10- and 20-krone, latest in 2011.
As from the mint year 2002 the initials on the Danish coins have been removed since their significance was not common knowledge and they disturbed the overall impression of the coins.

As from 2014 the Royal Danish Mint reintroduces the old tradition of including the initials of the mint master (JS) and the medallist (HW) on the coins.

Colour scheme
The design of the coin series is intended to ensure that the coins are easy to distinguish from each other:

The series is therefore divided into three sequences, each with its own metal colour. This division into colours has its roots in history. In earlier times, the value of the coins was equivalent to the value of the metal from which they were minted: gold was used for the coins of the highest denominations, silver for the next-highest, and copper for the lowest coin denominations. This correlation between colour and value has been retained in the present coin series. The 50-øre coins are thus minted from copper-coloured bronze, the 1-, 2- and 5-krone coins from a silver-coloured cupro-nickel alloy, and the 10- and 20-krone coins from golden aluminium bronze.

The coins differ in terms of size, weight and rim. Within each sequence the diameter and weight of the coins increase with their value. The 50-øre and 10-krone coins have smooth rims, while the rims of the 1- and 5-krone coins are milled. The rims of the 2- and 20-krone coins have interrupted milling. The 1-, 2- and 5-krone coins have a hole in the middle. Use of these various characteristics makes it easy for the blind and sight-impaired to tell the coins apart.

Last update: 02/27/2014

More information
Read by others

Danmarks Nationalbank
Havnegade 5
DK - 1093
Copenhagen K
Contact us Disclaimer