The Danish Payments Council

Photo from roof top on Danmarks Nationalbank

Abstract icon The Danish Payments Council is a forum for collaboration on the payments of consumers and firms. The Council was set up by Danmarks Nationalbank and includes representatives of a broad range of stakeholders in the Danish payments infrastructure.

​​​In 2012, Danmarks Nationalbank established the Payments Council as a forum for collaboration on Danish retail payments. The object of the Council is to promote the efficiency and security of these payments for all parties involved, i.e. consumers, firms, banks, etc. Furthermore, the Council contributes to providing better statistics for payments in Denmark.

Terms of reference for the Danish Payments Council
The Danish Payments Council's purpose and areas of work are termed in the ​Terms of reference for the Danish Payments Council.

Members of the Danish Payments Council
Danmarks Nationalbank chairs the Payments Council and provides secretariat services. In addition, the Council comprises representatives of The Confederation of Danish EnterpriseConfederation of Danish Industry (DI), Ministry of Industry, Business and Financial Affairs, the Danish Financial Supervisory Authority, Finance Denmark, the Danish Consumer AgencySMEdenmark and Nets.


The Danish Payments Council comprises nine members who have a generel interest in retail payments. Each member has one representative in the council.

​Currently, the Danish Payments Council comprises the following members and representatives:

Danmarks Nationalbank (Chairman)
Per Callesen

The Confederation of Danish Enterprise
Henrik Hyltoft

Confederation of Danish Industry (DI)
Sidsel Dyrholm Holm

Ministry of Industry, Business and Financial Affairs
Mette Tams Kitaj

The Danish Financial Supervisory Authority
Jon Hasling Kyed

Finance Denmark
Michael Busk-Jepsen

Danish Consumer Council
Vagn Jelsøe

Jakob Brandt

Trygve Ilkjær